Skip to content

In the office

June 9, 2012

I finally had a boss I liked and respected. I thought of discussing my professional future with him; I did not want to be stuck in that position for the rest of my life. He was receptive when I expressed my concerns. After congratulating me on my ambition, he asked: “what is it that you want to do?” I joked: “I want to be CEO of the company.” He left a soft laugh escape and looked into one of my eyes. “Look, you have to be realistic. That will never happen.” Then, I sighed. I did not know the answer.

Later, the question marks kept swirling around in my head. What was that I really wanted… and like a wildfire, the question marks spread to all areas of my life. The next morning, I told my boss: “More than anything, I want to be happy.” He smiled and said: “You have to think it over. Don’t rush. When you have the answer, you come to me again but you have to know what you really want to do career wise.”  I had a feeling I had known the answer all along but was afraid to verbalize it. After all, it had absolutely nothing to do with that company.

And no! I did not wish to become a squirrel….

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

