Skip to content

Late afternoon delivery

July 22, 2012

I was not there when it all happened. They told me it was about 5 PM. There was a knock on the door. The owner of the female pet squirrel was carrying a double paper grocery bag. Inside, there was a juvenile male squirrel.

Through an acquaintance, the lady had learned that a tree cutter who worked for the city had found a nest with two babies. He even waited for the mother but she did not show up. He took the nest home. One of the babies did not make it; the other thrived. However, it bothered the tree cutter the fact that the now six-month old squirrel boy was all alone and confined in a cage. He had young children so it was too risky for all parts involved to leave the squirrel loose. The tree cutter wasn’t happy about the situation and decided to give the juvenile to someone who could provide better care.

When I got home, I found the juvenile in a cage. We had been preparing for a while. The juvenile was scared but I was still able to see him; he was curious to see me too. I decided not to stress him and leave the introductions for the following day. I wasn’t sure of how I was feeling but I knew that day, I had got one of the best presents of my entire life!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

