Skip to content

Appreciating and not meddling

February 4, 2013

On January 21st, I thought: what better way to celebrate the Squirrel Appreciation Day than to go to the park and be grateful for their existence? With a small bag of shelled, mixed nuts in hand, off I went. First, I visited the place where I normally see a bunch of them. There were none. Where had those squirrels gone? I looked all around. Did they know it was Squirrel Appreciation Day and were then having a party? I did not get an invitation….  I walked all over the places I knew they hung out but it seemed I was out of luck. I gave up and when I was ready to leave, on the top of a wall, there he was! I had seen him before and he recognized me too. When I offered him an almond, he was more interested in smelling the tips of my fingers. He was still plump from his winter weight, had a fluffy fur coat and a sweet expression. If I were a female squirrel, I would definitively bat my eye lashes for him.

However, something about him seemed all too familiar to me. He did not move fast – he wouldn’t let anyone catch him but he simply wasn’t as fast as the other squirrels. His eyes were not one hundred percent lit. I have seen him before and every time,  he has always buried the walnuts, pecans and almonds I had given him. In different occasions, I saw him eating the sun flower seeds someone else brought him and a piece of an apple. Once, I saw him diving into a trash can and coming out with a French fry; he ate the whole thing!  My imagination took flight. In this day and age of amazing breakthroughs in medicine, why couldn’t we use a nanoparticle based or blood cell treatments or a synthetic polymer microencapusulation technology or some peptide to save a mammal from one of its worse enemies: heart disease. I thought I could talk to the park manager, get a trap and take my little friend to…. and then I landed on the ground again.

Back to planet earth, even if all that was possible, I would not have the financial means to provide a squirrel with that type of care. Nonetheless, financial considerations aside, the squirrel might not even survive the trapping or the necessary handling. That little happy fur ball  is used to its freedom and it would not have any other way. Besides, why do I have to “save” the squirrel? Who is to say that my little critter friend was not having exactly the experience it set out to have when it transitioned into this physical world?  Not surprisingly, as it has always been the case, the squirrels are still guiding me and again they taught me another lesson: There is no need to protect myself, anyone or anything from life. It is a manifestation, an illusion.  It is not up to me to break the cosmic harmony. Appreciation is welcome but nature doesn’t need my interference; if it did, it would provide me with an easy flow.  I left the park feeling a little more enlightened. I knew then all was well with my little fuzzy friend;  everything is as it should be.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

